Sneak peek at the NASEF 2020-21 Scholastic Fellows

international wwsef news scholastic esports Sep 23, 2020
Sneak peek at the NASEF 2020-21 Scholastic Fellows

NASEF is preparing to announce the details of our 2020-21 cohort of Scholastic Fellows and Mentors. As we’re gathering more information about each one, we just couldn’t wait to share this sneak peek. 

Scholastic Fellows will collaborate with each other and with NASEF staff to connect academics and gaming by implementing our state-approved integrated curriculum in their classrooms or after-school/out-of-school time programs. The Fellows work with a mix of middle and high schoolers, and they come from all across the U.S., as well as Mexico, the U.K., and South Africa. 

Educators not only mentor their students, they also bring great value to each other by sharing their experiences. Last year, NASEF had 24 Scholastic Fellows who developed fantastic esports education programs. A handful of them have now been selected to be Scholastic Mentors, guiding the new class of Fellows as they all work together to leverage student interest in esports for meaningful learning. 

These two videos provide snapshots of the experience of last year's Fellows.

Here are the names of the new members. Stay tuned for the full announcement on October 1, when we’ll provide insights into each Fellow’s path and plans for scholastic esports this school year. 

Scholastic Mentors

Chris Aviles, Toms River, NJ

Shayla Baldwin, Las Vegas, NV

Ryan Friederich, Spirit Lake, IA

Angelique Gianas, La Mesa, CA

Ivet Gonzalez, Santa Ana, CA

Tyler Hahn, Cherokee, IA

Joseph Williams, Laveen, AZ

James Wood, Gridley, CA

Scholastic Fellows

David Amaro, Toluca, México

Mary Atherton, Darlington, United Kingdom

Randall Deich, Lauderhill, FL

James Fraser-Murison, Basingstoke, United Kingdom

Aldo Fuentes, Ciudad de Mexico, México

Alexander Gibson, York, PA

Mark Godinez, Homestead, FL

Jenny Gonzales, San Juan Capistrano, CA

Bradford Harris, Spring, TX

Miles Harvey, Albuquerque, NM

Steve Isaacs, Basking Ridge, NJ

Garikai Kajau, Vereeniging, South Africa

Alex Keeler, Fort Pierce, FL

Clint Kennedy, Mystic, CT

JuanPablo Larios, Villa Park, CA

Dalton McGhiey, Springfield, IL

Lindy Meiser, Pottsboro, TX

Laura Rubi Meneses Adams, CDMX, México

Maria Nadal, Lake Forest, CA

Corrine Perrella, Annapolis, MD

Nick Rider, Carey, OH

Regina Schaffer, Middletown, NJ

Ashley Sheehan, Windsor, United Kingdom

John Shoemaker, West Palm Beach, FL

Matthew Smith, Redondo Beach, CA

Travis Whitt, Racine, WI

Taylor Yazel, Anaheim, CA

Congratulations to all these leaders in scholastic esports!


Newsletter Sign-Up

Get the latest NASEF news delivered right to your inbox!

By subscribing, you are confirming that you are older than 13 years or that you have the consent of my parent or person holding parental responsibility. We will not sell or distribute your email address to any third party at any time. You can, of course, unsubscribe at anytime. View our Privacy Policy.