Join NASEF

2023 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest

The 2023 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Contest is a STEAM competition where students from grades 3-12 compete with machines that they have imagined, designed in Minecraft Education Edition, and created in a fun and competitive forum.

The competitions encourage teamwork and out-of-the-box problem-solving in a fresh learning environment and level playing field. As always, the digital challenge mirrors the analog event. This year's challenge is to use Minecraft to build a wacky machine that will Build a Lunch. 

Through this event, youth will learn to weave Theme, Humor, and Storytelling into their creations. As they build their contraptions, they also need to incorporate technical skills and the engineering design process, making this a true STEAM project. There will be three divisions students can compete in; Junior (8-13 years) Senior (13-18 years) and @Home (all ages, adults can register as pat of the team). Plus, this year’s Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Contest is being offered in Minecraft Education Edition FREE for all teams!

REGISTER
Submit your Big Build

Prizes

Preseason

For each of the two preseason challenges, three teams will have their video showcased on the NASEF website and social media and win a $100 Amazon gift card. Winners will be selected at random from qualifying entries. 

Finals

1st Place 

Junior Division | Senior Division | @Home Division

  • Each Team will receive:
    • (1) Team admission for 2023 Rube Goldberg Machine Contest 
    • Individual official 2023 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest certificates
    • Showcased on the NASEF website and social media
    • $200 Amazon gift card

2nd Place 

Junior Division | Senior Division | @Home Division

  • Each Team will receive:
    • Individual official 2023 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest certificates
    • Showcased on the NASEF website and social media
    • $150 Amazon gift card

3rd Place 

Junior Division | Senior Division | @Home Division

  • Each Team will receive:
    • Individual official 2023 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest certificates
    • Showcased on the NASEF website and social media
    • $100 Amazon gift card

How to submit your Big Build Challenge: Build A Lunch

Step 1: Make sure you have all the requirements for your machine listed in the team guide (Pages 11-14).

Step 2: Submit your machine run videos in the appropriate Flip topic. Titles must include Team name + Submission #, followed by your Team Machines Title. More information is in the team guide (Page 13) on what to include in your video.

Junior Division (8-13 years old)

Senior Division (13-18 years old)

@Home Division (all ages)

Step 3: Gather your Flip links, machine step list and screenshots. Submit them to the Google Form.

Submit your Big Build on the Google Form

Watch our past live streams for this season

Video Poster Image
Video Poster Image
Video Poster Image

Timeline of Events

Registration Window

December 8, 2022 - March 2, 2023


Livestreams

January 17, 2023
January 24, 2023
January 31, 2023
February 21, 2023

Big Build Due

March 21, 2023


Finals Stream

March 28, 2023


All livestreams will be at 3:00pm PT | 4:00pm MT | 5:00pm CT | 6:00pm ET | 11:00pm GMT (UTC) on our YouTube channel!

Watch our previous streams to help you with your build!

RGMC 2022

Watch our streams from last year about the Engineering Design Process!

Watch here

RGMC 2021

Watch our streams from 2021 about the six simple machines!

Watch here