2022 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest

The 2022 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest is a STEAM competition where students from grades 3-12 compete with machines that they have imagined, designed in Minecraft Education Edition, and created in a fun and competitive forum.

The competitions encourage teamwork and out-of-the-box problem solving in a fresh learning environment and level playing field. This year's challenge is to use Minecraft to build a wacky machine that will Open & Illuminate a Book

Through this event, we'll run livestreams to help youth learn about the engineering design process as they build their contraptions. Plus, this year’s Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Contest with Minecraft Education Edition is FREE for all teams!

Register below!

Registration


WATCH OUR LIVE STREAMS ON OUR TWITCH CHANNEL

Twitch Channel

  • Live Stream 1: Wednesday, November 3, 2021 @ 2:00pm PDT | 3:00pm MDT | 4:00pm CDT | 5:00pm EDT 
  • Live Stream 2: Wednesday, November 17, 2021 @ 2:00pm PDT | 3:00pm MDT | 4:00pm CDT | 5:00pm EDT 
  • Live Stream 3: Wednesday, December 8, 2021 @ 2:00pm PDT | 3:00pm MDT | 4:00pm CDT | 5:00pm EDT 
    • Challenge 3 due: Friday, December 17, 2021 @ 5:00pm PT | 6:00pm MT | 7:00pm CT | 8:00pm ET | 3:00am GMT (UTC) 

Live streams will discuss the Engineering Design Process, share tips and tricks for Minecraft, showcase sample builds, and more.


AWARDS

For each of the three preseason challenges, five teams will have their video be showcased on the North America Scholastic Esports Federation website and social media and win an $175 Amazon gift card. Winners will be selected at random from qualifying entries. 

Junior Division | Senior Division | @Home Division

  • Each Team will receive:
    • (1) Team admission for 2022 Rube Goldberg Machine Contest 
    • Individual official 2022 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest certificates
    • Showcased on the North America Scholastic Esports Federation website and social media
    • $450 Amazon gift card

Junior Division | Senior Division | @Home Division

  • Each Team will receive:
    • Individual official 2022 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest certificates
    • Showcased on the North America Scholastic Esports Federation website and social media
    • $225 Amazon gift card

Junior Division | Senior Division | @Home Division

  • Each Team will receive:
    • Individual official 2022 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest certificates
    • Showcased on the North America Scholastic Esports Federation website and social media
    • $100 Amazon gift card

Across All Divisions

  • Each Team will receive:
    • Individual official 2022 Digital Rube Goldberg Machine Minecraft Contest certificates
    • Named on the North America Scholastic Esports Federation website and social media

Pre season challenge #3: Imagine, and what??

Now that you and your team have built and tested some of your ideas, it is time to imagine and dream up what's next. Decide on one component of your Rube Goldberg Machine you'd like to include in your final build. Build and test it to see if does what you want it to.

Did it work as you hoped? What went right and what went wrong? Was it a great success or an epic fail? Either way, we want to know about how you tackled this step in the Engineering Design Process!

Record and share in your Minecraft world! Submit your video by December 3rd, 2021 for a chance to win a $175 Amazon gift card for your team!!!

Please put your team name in the title when submitting. 

** No mods permitted 

Visit here for the slide deck.

 

 

How to Videos From 2021 RGMC Big Build Challenge

Here are the live streams from last year that taught how to use Minecraft to build six simple machines. 

BIG BUILD CHALLENGE FINALS ANNOUNCEMENT LIVE STREAM

BIG BUILD CHALLENGE FINALS ANNOUNCEMENT LIVE STREAM

HOW TO CREATE INCLINE PLANE IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE INCLINE PLANE IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE PULLEYS IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE PULLEYS IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE SCREWS IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE SCREWS IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE WEDGES IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE WEDGES IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE WHEEL & AXLES IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE WHEEL & AXLES IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE LEVERS IN MINECRAFT

HOW TO CREATE LEVERS IN MINECRAFT

Congratulations to our 2021 RGMC Big Build Challenge Winners! 

Last year, we joined the Rube Goldberg Foundation and InsideParticipate in hosting the 2021 NASEF Rube Goldberg Machine Contest + Minecraft Big Build Challenge Awards! Tune into our video-on demand on our YouTube channel to see some of the best and most wacky physical and digital Rube Goldberg machines in the world

Watch our winning 2021 RGMC Big Builds on our Flipgrid page

Junior Division

  • 1st Place: Capital C from Bayan Lepas, Penang, Malaysia
  • 2nd Place: Team 3.3 from Miami, Florida, United States
  • 3rd Place (tie): Team Spark in Coral Springs, Florida, United States
  • 3rd Place (tie): Team Minecraft's Peoples in Weston, Florida, United States

Senior Division

  • 1st Place: Natural Selection from Flemington, New Jersey, United States
  • 2nd Place: The Legendary Potatoessss from Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia
  • 3rd Place (tie): GM Hornets Team 10 from Great Mills, Maryland, United States
  • 3rd Place (tie): Tricky Life from Pöcking, Germany

@Home Division

  • 1st Place: Redstone Revolutionary from Prairie Grove, Arkansas, United States